Megadeth Heavy Metal, Death by Design

A dream combination, Megadeth and Heavy Metal Magazine have teamed up for the highly anticipated original graphic novel, Death By Design. The 350-page graphic anthology accompanies Megadeth’s upcoming 35th-anniversary greatest-hits compilation, Warheads On Foreheads.

According to Bleeding Cool, Death By Design will feature new comic book stories by some very familiar names in the industry, inspired by the songs on the album.

Here are 5 reasons we’re excited for Death by Design

5) The Megadeth Univese!

The project will be curated by Megadeth’s co-founder Dave Mustaine and Heavy Metal Magazine. The anthology aims to give both insight and understanding into the universe of Megadeth and its harrowed mascot, Vic Rattlehead. 

4) It’ll Be Electrifying!

Dave Mustaine states, “I have always fantasized about Megadeth doing something this gloriously electrifying and gruesome. I hope everyone will enjoy the graphic novel as much as I enjoyed working with Heavy Metal to put it together for you.”

3) The Melding Of Two Worlds!

Jeff Krelitz, CEO of Heavy Metal, adds, “Since I was old enough to buy records, MEGADETH has been one of my favorite bands, not only for the great storytelling in the music, but the world building imagery on the album covers. This opportunity to meld the two worlds together and tell stories inspired by their songs is a privilege that we are excited to present to the fans.”

2) The Creative Teams

 “Rattlehead”: Dan Fogler & Andy Belanger 

“Mechanix”: Ben Meares & DAF 

“Killing Is My Business”: Alex de Campi & Mack Chater 

“The Conjuring”: Llexi Leon & Kevin West 

“Wake Up Dead”: Tony Lee & Gyula Nemeth 

“Devils Island”: Sebastian Girmer & Esau Escorza 

“Good Mourning / Black Friday”: Leah Moore, John Reppion & Ben Templesmith 

“Set The World Afire”: Diego Agrimbau & Agustín Alessio 

“In My Darkest Hour”: David Baille & Conor Boyle 

“Holy Wars…The Punishment Due”: Tim Seeley & Ignacio Calero 

“Hangar 18”: Brendon Small & Belén Ortega 

“Tornado Of Souls”: Patrick Kindlon & Marco Turini 

“Rust In Peace…Polaris”: Hector Lima & Garrie Gastonny 

“Five Magics”: Johnathan LaMantia 

“Take No Prisoners”: ML Miller & Carlos Granda 

“Skin O’ My Teeth”: PM Buchan & John Pearson 

“Angry Again”: Homero Rios & Anton Kokarev 

“Symphony Of Destruction”: Justin Jordan & John Bivens 

“Sweating Bullets”: Sean Lewis & Axel Medellin 

“A Tout Le Monde”: Llexi Leon & Richard Friend 

“Train Of Consequences”: James Harvey 

“Reckoning Day”: Jeff Burandt & Jason Gongour 

*Trust”: Frazer Irving 

“She-Wolf”: Curtis Pires & Antonio Fuso 

“Wanderlust”: Abraham Martínez & Patricio Delpeche 

“Dread and the Fugitive Mind”: Jonathan Land & Andrea Mutti 

“Blackmail The Universe”: Haylar García & Abel 

“Washington Is Next!”: Haylar García & Kevin Enhart 

“Head Crusher”: R.G. Llarena & Danijel Zezelj 

“Public Enemy No. 1”: John Ostrander & Miguel Mora 

“Kingmaker”: Brian Wood & Riccardo Burchielli 

“The Threat Is Real”: Joe Keatinge & Anand Radhakrishnan 

“Poisonous Shadows”: Chistine Larsen 

“Death From Within”: Alex de Campi & Wilfredo Torres 

“Dystopia”: David Baille & Simeon Aston

1) A Tout Le Monde!

I’ve always been a huge fan of Megadeath’s song, “A Tout Le Monde,” so I’m really glad that song is on the list! I thought Dave Mustaine was hilarious voicing himself in the Daffy Duck cartoon series, Duck Dodgers. And no, Dave Mustaine was not raised by wolves! 

Megadeth: Death By Design comes in four different editions and will be in comic stores on June 5, 2019.

By Jorge Solis